About Gibson

The electorate of Gibson is named after Gladys Ruth Gibson CBE who was a prominent South Australian educationalist and women’s activist in the mid-twentieth century. She was a teacher, inspector of schools and member of the Public Examination Board, as well as a foundation member of the Australian College of Education and founder of St Ann’s College. . From 1952 to 1956 she served as President of the National Council of Women of Australia and from 1953 to 1956 she served as Vic-President of the international body.

The Gibson electorate was first contested in 2018 after the 2016 electoral redistribution. It is located in Adelaide’s inner-south west and includes the suburbs of Oaklands Park, Marion, Warradale, Dover Gardens, Seacombe Gardens, Sturt, North and South Brighton, Brighton, Hove and Somerton Park. The electorate sits within the Federal electorate of Boothby and within the boundaries of both the City of Marion and the City of Holdfast Bay. The Kaurna people of the Adelaide Plains have a strong connection and a rich history with the land the electorate encompasses.


Residents in Gibson are fortunate to enjoy many environmental and historic points of interest including the Marion Historical Village, Holdfast Bay History Centre, Oaklands Wetlands, and kilometres of sandy beaches stretching from South Brighton to Somerton Park. South Australia’s largest retail shopping centre, Westfield Marion, is also located within Gibson in Oaklands Park.

The electorate is predominantly residential but also includes pockets of small business and light manufacturing. Being close to the beach and in the vicinity of the Adelaide foothills, it is a popular region for families and those looking for an affordable but active lifestyle.

For all Electorate Maps, including Gibson, please click here.

Authorised by Corey Wingard MP, Member for Gibson. Level 2, 1 Milham Street Oaklands Park SA 5046. ©Copyright / Legal / Login